Tomato Sauce Season Continues.

The hardest part of walking into the house with this:

… is turning it into this:

Thirteen pints of roasted tomato sauce and nine quarts of masala sauce.

I cut all the beefsteak tomatoes in half and rotated at 350° for an hour or so, then ran them all through the blender. They didn’t need a lot of boiling down after that; maybe 10-15 minutes. 1/4 t. citric acid as per pint; boiling water canner for 35 minutes.

The masala sauce is a recipe I developed, and should probably write out at some point, but it’s essentially tomato sauce with a boatload of garlic, ginger, cumin, coriander, pepper, salt and turmeric. 1/2 t. citric acid per quart; 40 minutes in boiling water canner.

I’m looking ahead to this winter nights when I need to make a quick dinner, and these should greatly reduce the effort of putting butter chicken or tomato soup on the table. The fact that I made it from tomatoes (and garlic) that we raised ourselves, and processed here on the farm, with total quality control over the whole process, just makes it that much more rewarding.

… and hopefully, my tomato plants will give me a few days to recover!

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Canning, Eat Local, Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Tomato Sauce Season Continues.

  1. Matt says:

    Thank you for the recipe. We’re just about to start planting tomatoes in Melbourne, Australia

Leave a comment