We have moved!

Do I have pictures?  No.  Well, I have them, but they’re on my phone, and I haven’t figured out how to get the computer to talk to my phone about pictures.

The new house is awesome.  It’s massive!  It does have it’s little peculiarities, though; there must be compensations.  The master bathroom is almost completely inoperable; the shower only spouts hot water, the toilet doesn’t work, and the tub leaks.  So for now, we enjoy the sinks and the mirrors… and use the kids’ bathrooms down the hallway.

But!  We have separate boys and girls bathrooms!  How cool is that??

Boxes are EVERYWHERE.  We’ve gotten enough unpacked that I can make meals and we can homeschool.  There’s a room downstairs that is supposed to be a guest room, and it’s FULL of the pantry stuff, because the actual pantry is my next project for overhauling.  Hopefully I’ll get it taped, textured and painted, and linoleum-ed in the next week or so, because I need to be able to find my green beans again!

We moved with a cat.  We saw the cat for a few days after the move.  He hasn’t made an appearance in a week.  We’re starting to worry that he may have met a bitter end… or that he’s decided to ditch us for new owners.  Either way, the kids are rather upset that Pepper is AWOL.

We also moved with chickens.  9 have gone on strike; 3 are laying sporadically.  I’ve gone from getting 15 eggs a day (when we had 19 hens), to getting two if I’m lucky.  Breakfast menus have changed…

We seem to have moved in the nick of time.  The rains started before we left, but since our departure there has been snow in the mountains, flooding in the lowlands, and massive amounts of trees and power lines down in our old neighborhood.  I hear that it may be days before the lights come back on at our old place.

The ‘old’ house is due to close this week.  We’re hoping that the new closing date of Friday doesn’t get moved back again.  Our buyers are just as anxious to have it be a done deal as we are!

This new business of living near family is such a change from our previous life.  We’ve lived away from family for almost the last 23 years.  Seeing Grandpa and Grandma multiple times a week, and cousins and uncles and aunts almost daily is such a treat for the kids and me.  Mr. Caffeinated is enjoying learning his new job, and we are truly blessed by how much he is loving it.

I managed to pick up a last souvenir on the way out of town: strep throat.  I’ve been on antibiotics for nearly a week, and it appears to be doing the trick.  That plus homeschooling is keeping me from unpacking as quickly as I’d like… I sure hope that I can knock out the rest of my own bedroom as well as all the books and homeschool paraphernalia this weekend… in between coats of tape-and-texture!

This is all a little stilted, but I seem to only have my brain firing on half its cylinders.  I’m pretty sure the other ones are in a box around here someplace.

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in The Present Insanity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We have moved!

  1. Much progress has been made since this post I’m sure! The most exciting thing to read about is living close to family!!!!!!!

    • dep31 says:

      It’s awesome! I’m loving it. I’m sure we’re in a ‘honeymoon’ phase at the moment, but it really is wonderful. We’ve never lived this close to family in our entire (21 years!) married life, so it’s a real treat. I think it was great that we had a few years away, so that we could establish our own routines and really bond, but it is SO nice to be close now.

Leave a Reply

