Homemade Dough Enhancer

I’m sometimes told that my bread has really good texture.  As in, sandwich-able versus hockey puck.

Some of that is technique; kneading time, rising space, stretching.  Some of it is environmental; bread always rises better on sunny days.

… and some if it’s because I cheat.

Add a couple of tablespoons of dough enhancer for every 4 cups of flour, and bread will rise pretty well even on the dark and dismal days.

I used to purchase it, but when my main source dried up, I started making my own.  I got the recipe here, on Chickens In The Road.  Thank you, Suzanne!

Some of the ingredients I had on hand; some I ordered through Amazon or Azure.  Some were most economical to purchase at the store, but since I wasn’t in a hurry, I just ordered the ones that were cheapest online.

When everything had arrived, I pulverized the soy lecithin in the coffee grinder so that I’d have an all-powder mixture, and then just whisked it together in a bowl.  Then I poured it into jars.  One is in my fridge; the rest are is the freezer.  I’m set for awhile.

Dough Enhancer ingredients

The fixin’s

Here were my sources:

Vital wheat gluten:  Fred Meyer, bulk section.  Bob’s Red Mill also carries it.  I couldn’t find any organic gluten flour that wasn’t prohibitively expensive, so I went with conventional.

Soy Lecithin: I did go organic for this, because if soy isn’t organic, it’s GMO.  Purchased through Azure.

Ascorbic Acid: Amazon, packaged loose instead of in capsules.  Makes it a lot easier to measure out!

Powdered Pectin: from my leftover jam-making  supplies in the pantry.

Unflavored gelatin: from Azure, although Knox from the store would work as well.  I just wanted a healthier source for all my gelatin uses, and Azure’s gelatin is from pastured animals.  It isn’t organic, though.  Don’t let the ‘beef’ part throw you; most gelatin is made from animal bones.  It doesn’t taste like beef, though.

Nonfat dry milk: Organic, from Azure.  I don’t know why they say it isn’t instant.  It mixes up in a pitcher with a blender; no milking equipment or cow in sight.  Sounds pretty instant to me…

Powdered Ginger: Organic, from Azure.  Ginger powder is made from the ginger root, and since I’m not so sure that pesticides aren’t stored in the root, I prefer to go with organic.

One batch makes between a pint and a quart of dough enhancer.  Of course, in purchasing the ingredients, I’ve ended up with enough to make multiple batches… so while the initial cost seemed a bit high, it’s going to last me a long, long time.

If you’re still with me and interested, the recipe is here on Chickens in the Road.

Happy baking!

 

 

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

