Old-Fashioned Potato Salad

Somewhere back in the mists of time, I believe one of my grandparents used to make this potato salad.  My mom painstakingly copied it into her recipe collection, which I pirated wholesale just before leaving the nest.

Of course, I am unable to let any recipe stand as read, and have tweaked it.  I still enjoy grazing on it by the dessert-bowlful, standing up by the fridge, just like I did when I was growing up.  Bliss…

I think this variety is sometimes referred to as “German-style potato salad”.

I start with Yukon Gold potatoes.

??????????????????????????????? They tend to hold their shape better.  I peel and rinse them, then boil in salty water until they’re tender, but not blown out.

While that’s in progress, I peel the eggs.  I’ve discovered that if I want picture-perfect easy-peel homegrown eggs, I have to wait until they’re a week old before I cook ’em.

???????????????????????????????

Chop eggs, celery and onion into relatively uniform bite-size pieces.  The bacon and pickles – I use dilly beans; they have more crunch – are smaller.

Stop and be entertained by spouse and son, who are putting the dressing together.  I was making a recipe-and-a-half, and they were working out the fractions.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Whisk up the dressing.

When the potatoes are done, I drain them and let them cool for ten minutes or so before stirring everything together.  Add the parsley before stirring.  I also ground in a bit of pepper; just a few twists of the grinder.

???????????????????????????????

Gently toss together in a large mixing bowl, cover and refrigerate overnight.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

2 lbs. cooked, peeled, cubed potatoes (6 med.)
1 c. chopped onion
1 c. sliced celery
3 hard-boiled eggs, coarsely chopped
½ c. cooked bacon bits (optional)
½ c. chopped pickles or dilly beans (optional)

Dressing:
½ c. extra-virgin olive oil
½ c. apple cider vinegar
¾ c. mayonnaise
1 T. dried parsley, or 3 T. chopped fresh parsley (optional)
2 t. salt
1 t. sugar
¼ t. paprika

  • Mix potatoes, eggs, onion, celery, bacon, pickles, and parsley.
  • Combine oil, vinegar, mayo, salt, sugar and paprika; pour over potato mixture.
  • Toss lightly to combine.
  • Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours; overnight for best flavor.
  • Just before serving, sprinkle with additional fresh chopped parsley.

Makes 6 cups.

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Comfort Food, Side dishes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old-Fashioned Potato Salad

  1. Marie Shipp says:

    Here’s a tried and true way to hard boil eggs the day you pick them out of the nests 🙂 I can’t seem to save eggs as long as a week, we eat them too fast, so I searched and searched for a trick, and found one. If you take a little nail or a thumb tack, and poke a tiny hold in the big end. Then put them in boiling water for 15 minutes, then ice water, they will fall out of their shells, it’s amazing!!

    • dep31 says:

      Hmmm, I’ll have to give that a try. I’d always heard to poke them in the small end, and they never came unstuck for me. I’ll try the big end next time. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

