Time Out For Snow

??????????  The excitement started yesterday with the weather forecast.  Not just any weather forecast, mind you – Natter and I read through Cliff Mass’s detailed-with-computer-imagery forecast, with the anticipation getting thicker the further we read.

Today the kids, who were up before it was completely light, anxiously peered out the windows.  Snow!  Snow an inch thick on the ground, and more falling every minute!  Oh, the searching for snowsuits, the banging of doors, beeping of unattended alarm clocks and untimely waking of babies, the shouts for shovels, the calling for sleds!

??????????

They’ve been in and out since then; mostly out.  A snowman is taking shape near the mailbox.  Rosebud tells me “Merry Christmas!” every time I pass.

??????????

The chickens came out for their morning goodies (warm oatmeal mixed with scraps and eggshells), wolfed it down while making snide remarks about the weather, and promptly went back into the coop.

snow1

The Moose somehow gets drenched in no time flat.  He’s got his big brother’s old snow boots, and brings me a pair of gloves about every 15 minutes to trade for dry ones.  This is his first year to really enjoy playing in the snow, and he’s making the most of it.

??????????

As for me… well, I’m sitting in my flannel-lined jeans and watching out the window.  I’ve got a lovely fire in the stove and hot cocoa waiting for the explorers when the cold gets to be too much.  When I was growing up, my brother and I were at my grandparents’ orchard up north a few times when there was snow, and we spent hours sledding.  Grandma had piping hot cocoa and goodies waiting when we came in.  I am so happy I can provide the same experience for my own brood!

?????????? ?????????? ??????????

The news says the snow will turn to rain this afternoon and we’ll go back to our schoolwork then.  But for now – we’re taking time out for snow.

??????????

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in The Inmates, The Present Insanity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

