Fowl Play

These past weeks, the chickens have been giving us fewer and fewer eggs.  I’m told that this is pretty normal because of the colder weather we’re having.

I opened up the coop a week ago to make sure things were all right.

Yesterday, there were two eggs in the nesting boxes, and I decided to check the inside of the coop again.  And found two nests:

??????????

Those stinkers!  They were hoarding!!  I found 27 eggs in all.

Back at the house, I figured I’d better crack and separate them, to make sure they were still good.

??????????

… and then I served them their crushed eggshells with oatmeal.

??????????

All right, girls – go lay me another couple dozen.

LET’S AIM FOR THE NESTS THIS TIME!!!

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Pastured Poultry, The Present Insanity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fowl Play

  1. tbnranch says:

    ha ha! That has happened to me too… I found 17 hidden under the coop! Surprise!

  2. Pingback: When life gives you eggs… bake. | Domestic Endeavors

Leave a Reply

