Oven-Smoked Pulled Pork

What could be better for a firewood party than barbeque pork?

For our party, I thawed out a couple of big pieces of pork from the hog we butchered.  I adapted a recipe for Oven Smoked Ribs from Cooks Illustrated.

I rubbed the raw meat with this:

Two parts each:  brown sugar, paprika and salt
One part: black pepper

… and then let it set overnight in the fridge.

The next day, I popped it in the freezer for an hour while preheating the oven and my pizza stone to 500°.

I took a rimmed cookie sheet, lined it with foil, and sprinkled it with a ½ c. lapsang souchong tea that I’d pulverized in the coffee grinder.

The meat sat on the wire rack insert, and then the whole shebang was wrapped in foil.

When the pizza stone was good and hot, I sat the cookie sheet directly on the stone and set the timer for 45 minutes.

pork baking

Here’s what it looked like when it came out of the oven:

pork set up

After 45 minutes, I took the meat out, put it in my turkey roaster and poured in a quart of apple cider and a cup of brewed lapsang souchong tea.  I set the temperature at 225° and let it cook for about six hours.

pork in roaster oven

I could have just added the apple cider to the cookie sheet and turned the oven down, rewrapped the meat and let it bake in there, but I needed the oven for other things.

Once the meat started falling apart, I recruited Mr. Caffeinated to pull it off the bone and put it in an aluminum tray for me.  We mixed in some barbeque sauce and some of the juices from the roaster, and served it up for lunch.

pulled pork

photo by Marci Cheesebrough, http://www.shutterpated.com

We ended up with leftovers; we only ate 1/3 of what I’d prepared!  That cut made a LOT of meat: three of those trays, full. So, I froze it and we’ll be having it again this Saturday.

I’m looking forward to the day we can raise and butcher our own hogs.  This one was from Douglas Farms in Selah, WA.  They raise good meat.

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Allergy-Friendly, Main Dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

