Roasted Broccoli

Earlier this week, I acquired a 3-lb. bag of broccoli from Costco – thank you, Anne! – with the intention of feeding it to the troops.

Paging through the Feb/Mar 2011 Cooks’ Country, I came across a recipe for Broccoli with Cheese Sauce.  I was intrigued; it called for oven-roasting the broccoli.  Since my family likes cauliflower roasted in the oven, I decided to give it a try.

First, I preheated the oven to 450°.  Then I broke up all the big pieces and tossed them in a bowl with a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper.

Then I poured them into a lipped cookie sheet, trying to keep them only one layer deep.  I used two cookie sheets for three pounds.

broccoli before roasting

As per the recipe, I let it bake, uncovered, for 7 minutes, then stirred each pan.  I then returned them to the oven for another 8 minutes, at which point they were done.

roasted

I made my own recipe for cheese sauce, which is essentially a white sauce with some cheese melted in it.

Was it a success?  Hmm.  Natter and Rosebud both had thirds.  After his second helping, Natter quit adding cheese sauce, claiming that he liked it better without.  (!)

Mr. Caffeinated had thirds, too.

However, the show was completely stolen by the Moose, who not only had fourths, but who stole the serving dish and polished it off.  (!!!!)

serving plate

Fortunately, there was still some left in the pan for me.  However – the total leftovers from a three pound bag of broccoli amounted to about two cups.

Will I be making this again?  Um, YEAH.

Roasted Broccoli
adapted from Cooks Country magazine, Feb/Mar 2011

3 lbs. broccoli, broken into bite-size pieces
3 T. extra virgin olive oil
1 t. Himalayan sea salt
1/2 t. pepper

1.  Preheat oven to 450°.

2.  Toss broccoli with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

3.  Arrange on lipped cookie sheets.

4.  Bake for 7 minutes, uncovered.  Stir. Return to oven for 8 more minutes.

5.  Serve.

6.  No, wait – first set aside serving for Mom.  Then serve.

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Allergy-Friendly, Side dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roasted Broccoli

  1. Mrs H says:

    I really like their oven-roasted broccoli, but I have never tried the cheese sauce.

Leave a Reply

