New Pantry

One of the things I love about our new place is my nice, new, big pantry.

It wasn’t here when we arrived.  That corner of the family room was used for another purpose entirely under the previous management.

previous management

However, our awesome friend, Pete, has been hard at work here for months, creating my new storage space.

First, the pellet stove had to be moved.  Mr. Caffienated had a good time deconstructing it.

after stove removal

Then the work stalled.  Mr. Caffeinated was working 12 hour days, and most weekends, plus I was pregnant and horribly sick.  Plus trying homeschool, move into the new house, and oversee some other contracted work here.  Nothing got done.

Pete was here, installing our new whole-house water filter – another thing I am crazy about – and asked if we would like his help putting the new pantry and studio together.  Um, yes!  The ideas and work he did are So. Much. Nicer. than anything we could have done ourselves.

The framing, electrical work, carpet removal and all took weeks.  Did I take pictures?  Well… if I did, I can’t find ’em.  Grrr.  But – the walls are SOLID.  And multiple people have come through and said that if they weren’t told that it was new construction, they’d never have known.

I am very glad to have hard floor in my new pantry… one cracked jar of grape juice has forever cured me of having carpeted pantry space!  The window will eventually have blackout curtains on it.  When I get around to sewing them.  Sometime soon.

Check out my new room!

open space

One of Pete’s great ideas was to put the lights on a motion sensor.  I walk in with my hands full, and the lights come on for me!

lightswitch

I love what he did with the new wall.  Pete took the pieces of cedar that were removed for the wainscoting, and pieced them together for the wall behind the shelving.  I think it’s beautiful.

big wall

You can still see some of this artwork in the corner by the door, now that the shelves are in:

walls

Here you can see some of the framing, which was still going on outside the room as I was moving my jars and whatnot into their new digs.

under construction

I’m still sorting things onto the shelves, but I love, love, Love my new pantry!

sorting

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in The Present Insanity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Pantry

  1. Mrs H says:

    Whew! I did not hear the story about the cracked grape juice jar and I am not sure I have the courage to! It sounds terrible! But I love, love, love the new pantry, and what a wonderful friend – what a guy! This is so nice, and so much better than stacking boxes on the spare bed!

Leave a Reply

