Baby news!

Hi, Everyone –

There is news!  Junior has arrived.

Junior

First, stats:  Born, Monday 7:32 AM.  6 lbs., 8 oz., 19.5″.

I won’t put his name online, but if you know Mr. Caffeinated’s first and middle names, it’s a reverse of the two.

The surgery itself went very smooth. I.V. went in on the 2nd try; spinal went in on the first.  They did give me Versed after Junior was delivered, but it was either a very small dose or I reacted differently than last time because I was awake the whole time.  However, it must have been somewhat effective because this section was a breeze (for me).

Junior was born breech.  They let me watch when they pulled him out and the first thing I saw were two feet, kicking.  Yup, that’s my boy!

He ended up in the NICU a couple of hours later.  He’d been doing a lot of grunting, and wasn’t particularly interested in nursing. When the pediatric team descended en masse to do the post-birth check-up, they found that his oxygen saturation was low, and they admitted him into the NICU.

I got to visit him a couple of times on Monday and Tuesday, but mostly I stayed downstairs and worked on recovering.  The nurses on the first few shifts were great, but the last two!  Let’s just say that I have a few stories to tell.

At this point, “Wednesday night, late”, I am officially discharged.  So I am now upstairs in the NICU, hanging out with Mr. Caffeinated and Junior.  I’m the one making the milk and popping pain pills.

When we get to is up to Junior.  If he does really well tonight and tomorrow, we might go home as early as tomorrow night.  Or we could be here another week.  No way to know at this point.  He did really well on his last two feedings.  He still has the air line in his nose;  it is just air from the room, no added oxygen.  His oxy saturation ranges from 90 – 100%, and stays high most of the time.  He’s still on the i.v. for glucose; they’ll start weaning him off that tomorrow if he eats well tonight.

Junior in NICU

Our preacher stopped by and prayed with us.  (Thank you!)  Mr. and Mrs. P were here today and cheered us up.  We didn’t do the silly photos, though; kinda hard to do when baby’s a mass of cords and tubes.  Mrs. S came by twice with awesome homemade Indian food.  Big, big huge hugs and thanks!!

If you want to come by, be sure to call first to see what’s up!  Also, the hospital is not allowing visitors underage 18 in to the maternity because of the flu going around.

Most of all, we crave prayers for Junior’s lungs to mature quickly, a swift recovery for me, sanity and sleep for Daddy… and no more cranky nurses.

Hopefully, the next update will be… from home.

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in The Present Insanity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

