No-Flour Peanut Butter Cookies

I discovered this recipe at Chickens In The Road, and knew that with all the peanut butter addicts around here, it would be worth trying.  Plus, with it being a GF/DF recipe, the Moose could eat them too.

A quick note – my pictures don’t seem to loading all the way.  If you get tiny thumbnail pics, click on one to see the larger size, and then back-click to the blog post.  They should all be fully loaded at that point.

These cookies went together incredibly quickly.  This is a very easy recipe!  The whole family likes them; I think they have far more peanut flavor than ‘regular’ peanut butter cookies made with flour.

Here are the ingredients in the Bosch:

peanut butter cookie dough

This makes a very crumbly dough:

PB cookie dough crumbles

Roll into balls, then cross hatch with a fork:

PB cookie dough

I sprinkled them with vanilla sugar, but that’s not required.

Bake for about six minutes.  They are very tender when they first come out, and need to set up for at least ten minutes or so before taking them off the rack.

… and here’s the finished product:

peanut butter cookies

I added a tad bit of peanut oil to my recipe, since I use organic peanut butter from Trader Joe’s, which tends to be drier than other brands that add loads of hydrogenated oils to their peanut butters.

Here’s my tweaked version:

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

1 c. peanut butter
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. white sugar (I plan to experiment with Sucanat or trying all-brown)
1 egg
1 t. baking soda
1 t. vanilla
1/2 t. salt
1 t. peanut oil (any flavorless oil ought to do.  Or butter.  But I went DF for the Moose)

vanilla sugar for sprinkling, optional

Preheat oven to 350°.

Mix all ingredients together, then form into dough balls.  Place on parchment paper.  If you don’t use parchment paper, I’d recommend using a non-stick pan or cooking spray.  I don’t know if these would stick or not…

Cross-hatch with fork, sprinkle with sugar.  Bake at 350° until slightly brown, about 5-1/2 to 6-1/2 minutes.

Allow to cool a little before removing from pan; they are very tender when they first come out of the oven and break easily.

You could add chocolate chips, whole nuts, or any other sort of usual cookie stir-ins to this before forming into balls, and they should bake up just fine.

Enjoy!

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Allergy-Friendly, Baking, Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No-Flour Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Mrs H says:

    Yummy … how are you making cookies?! You are awesome.

    • dep31 says:

      By osmosis.

      Nah, I sit on a tall stool in the kitchen and send the kids running around for ingredients. I’m REALLY looking forward to this baby’s arrival so that I can have my body back!

Leave a Reply

