“Onion Soup” Mix

Many recipes – dip, stroganoff, etc. – call for “Onion Soup” mix, which is generally found in the soup or seasoning aisle of the grocery store.

After my epiphany with taco seasoning, it occurred to me that there was probably a way to make a dry onion soup mix at home as well.

When I read the ingredients on the packaged mix I’d been using (Mrs. Grass Onion Soup), I really got motivated to make my own mix.

The label on the Mrs. Grass package reads:

Dehydrated Onions, Salt, Modified Corn Starch, Sugar, Onion Powder, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Hydrolyzed Torula and Brewers Yeast Protein, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Monosodium Glutamate, Hydrolyzed Corn Protein, Caramel Color, Silicon Dioxide, Soybean Oil, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Dextrose, Natural Flavor, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil

Hmmm… there appears to me to be a whopping four “real” ingredients in there:  dehydrated onions, salt, sugar, and onion powder.  Everything else in there is, in my opinion, worthless: fillers, texturizers, colors, etc.

Plus – how many forms of MSG have they got in there?  A few years back, I found out that MSG isn’t always labeled as such; it comes in many different forms.  You can see a list here… anyway, I count at least SIX forms of MSG in that list.

And so, I went on the search for a good recipe for an onion soup mix.

It didn’t take long. I’ve had my version of the recipe jotted down in my cookbook for years, but I’m pretty sure that my original source was a copycat recipe found here.

The original calls for beef bouillon powder, but I haven’t used bouillon ever since I started making my own broths.  If I was making a dip, I’d have to either buy bouillon or reduce some broth – but since I generally use my onion soup mixes in stroganoff, I just use broth and omit it from the dry soup recipe.

Here is the cast of characters:

spices for mix

Measure the following into a small container:

1/3 c. + 1 T. dried onion pieces (I get them at Market Spice)
1 T. onion granules
1/8 t. celery seed, ground
¼ t. sugar
Pinch ground pepper

…. put the lid on, shake to combine.

That’s it!  If I were making a dip, I’d probably add salt – maybe half a teaspoon or a teaspoon or so.  To taste, at any rate.

About five tablespoons of the mix are equal to one package of store-bought stuff.

Voila!  Not a mad-chemist-ingredient in sight.

onion soup mix
This recipe was shared on Gluten Free Wednesdays.

Next up:  Beef Stroganoff

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Allergy-Friendly, Comfort Food, Make-Ahead Mixes, Side dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Onion Soup” Mix

  1. Pingback: Beef Stroganoff | Domestic Endeavors

  2. Mrs H says:

    Yummy!! We have a version in our house, too, and I use it for dip as well (it does have salt in it). I was inspired by a MarketSpice version and we just ended up making it at home. I add parsley and a few other things, and I agree – the storebought ones …nasty. I had one recently and thought it would be OK since I always liked it, but now all I can taste is plastic and artificial flavorings 😦

Leave a Reply

