Taco Seasoning

Do you ever get so tired of reading food labels that you decide to just “make it from scratch” to avoid the hassle?

I gave up on store-bought taco seasoning awhile back.  If they weren’t putting MSG in it, then they were adding whey (which the Moose is allergic to), or wheat flour (ditto), or some other filler, preservative or unpronounceable chemical.  An honest taco mix of just spices, herbs and salt seems to be impossible to find.  Plus, they’re generally stale and overpriced.

I tried out a few recipes for homemade taco seasoning mixes online and was pleasantly surprised at how easy they are to throw together, and how good they taste.  These days, I generally make up anywhere from two to a half dozen batches at a time, and store the extras in 4 oz. canning jars.  They’re easier to open than the store envelopes, higher quality (see my post on spices here), and I have total control over the contents.

My favorite recipe comes from AllRecipes.com.  I’ve been using it for years.  It’s known there as “Taco Seasoning I” and was submitted by Bill Echols.

Here it is:

1 T. chili powder
1 1/2 t. cumin, ground
1/4 t. garlic granules (or powder)
1/4 t. onion granules (or powder)
1/4 t. dried oregano
1/2 t. paprika
1/4 t. crushed red pepper flakes
1 t. black pepper
1 t. sea salt

Mix thoroughly. If making multiple batches, measure directly into 4 oz. jars and shake well before using to combine.  Do make sure the lid is on when you shake it up.  Just sayin’.

Use one recipe per pound of hamburger.

The only change I’ve made to the original is that I use granulated garlic and onion instead of powdered – the powder can clump up a bit in the jar.  And I put the ingredients in alphabetical order, since that’s how my drawer is organized.  Peppers are all grouped with “P”.

These are all spices I keep on hand anyway, and now that the nearest grocery store is 20 minutes away, I’m even more glad that I can whomp this up on my own without leaving the house.

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Allergy-Friendly, Comfort Food, Make-Ahead Mixes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taco Seasoning

  1. LCJ says:

    To answer your question, yes, I do! I have done the same thing with Italian seasoning, Poultry seasoning, etc. I also print a label for the jar that has the recipe on it. Now
    everything I need to know is right there when the time comes to mix up a new batch. Laziness is the mother of invention…?

    • Mrs H says:

      I have this saying … Necessity is the mother of invention, and laziness is the mother of necessity 😀

      • dep31 says:

        Necessity must have more than one mother, then, ’cause we’re finding all kinds of things that MUST be done here – and we’re not lazy!

        Maybe Necessity was brought up in a convent training Mother Superiors. Would explain the name…

  2. Elizabeth S. says:

    Thank you for posting this! I was totally thinking this a few weeks ago while I was looking at all the labels for taco seasoning and not finding any that I actually wanted to buy.

  3. Pingback: “Onion Soup” Mix | Domestic Endeavors

  4. Mrs H says:

    Oooooh ignore my comment on your taco soup post then, this is the same one! I read your blog backwards, can you tell?

Leave a Reply

