Homemade Frappuccino

Over a week ago, I thought I’d give blended iced coffee a try.  I found a recipe on Pioneer Woman’s website (Tasty Kitchen) for an “Organic Mocha Frappe” that sounded pretty good.  Being me, I can’t help tweaking it a bit.

It takes a bit of forward planning, though.  I had to make a pot of coffee and froze it into coffee cubes.

Two things promptly happened.

1.   Rereading the recipe the next day, I discovered that I was supposed to dissolve honey in the hot coffee before making the cubes.  Oops.

2.   We promptly had cool, overcast weather for a week, making iced coffee seem not-so-enticing.  If I’d washed the van, we would have had snow.

This weekend, finally, we have finally gotten some “summer weather.” (Also, we have  broken previous high temperature records with a high of… 91°.  As I originate from Eastern Washington, this is not exactly overwhelming.)

These are, however, ideal climate conditions for iced coffee.  So here goes:

16 hazelnut coffee ice cubes.

3 T. raw wildflower honey

(I do recommend blending the honey into the hot coffee before freezing.  Because I added honey to the cold mixture, it never really blended in; about half ended up congealing on the walls of the blender and refusing to budge.  The final shake was plenty sweet, though, so in future trials I’ll only use 1 T.)

1/2 t. homemade vanilla

1 T. grade B organic maple syrup

1/4 c. “Midnight Moo” chocolate syrup from Trader Joe’s

1 c. goat’s milk  (Thank you, dear sister-in-law, for bringing me goat’s milk!)

… all assembled in the blender.

Blend well…

Top with whipped cream.

Who needs Starbucks, anyway?

Homemade Frappuccino

1 pot coffee (I like hazelnut, but any variety works)
1 T. honey
1/2 t. vanilla
1 T. maple syrup
1/4 c. chocolate syrup
1 c. milk (of whatever variety floats your boat)
whipped cream (opt.)

1.  Brew coffee, and stir in honey till blended.  Freeze in ice cube trays.
2.  Assemble:  16 coffee ice cubes, vanilla, maple syrup, chocolate syrup and milk in blender.
3.  Blend till smooth.
4.  Pour into two glasses and top with whipped cream.  Makes two large servings.

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Beverages, Comfort Food, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Frappuccino

  1. Mrs H says:

    Since temps rarely drop below the nineties out here, I will have to give this a “whirl.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

