Baked Brown Basmati Rice

I used to try to boil brown rice, but I consistently either scorched it or added way too much water.

Then I bought Cook’s Illustrated’s “The Best Light Recipe” cookbook.  They had a recipe – and an article – on the merits of baking brown rice, which hadn’t ever occured to me before.  Intrigued, I decided to give it a try.

That was years ago.  This is still a recipe that I use every week in my kitchen.  It doubles and triples just fine.  I’ve used organic brown basmati rice from India as well as from California, and they all turn out just great.

1 1/2 c. organic brown basmati rice
1 T. oil (I use light olive oil)
1/2 t. salt
2 1/3 c. boiling water

Preheat oven to 375°.  Stir all of the ingredients together in a baking dish.  Cover tightly with lid or foil.

Bake one hour.  Remove from oven, and stir before serving.

That’s it!  Works like a charm every time.

P.S.  I have big, Big, BIG news… but I can’t share it here yet!  Probably next week.  Stay tuned!

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Allergy-Friendly, Baking, Comfort Food, Side dishes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baked Brown Basmati Rice

  1. Pingback: Beef Stroganoff | Domestic Endeavors

  2. Pingback: Baby Food: Sweet Potatoes and Brown Rice | Domestic Endeavors

Leave a Reply

