A Question of Compost Bins

I like these compost bins.

They aren’t mine.  The ones we built a couple of years ago were of similar size and layout.  They worked great.

But they were made with stock fencing, and looked like an open buffet for the local rodent population.  So we dismantled them and went to the black plastic container variety.  Those don’t work nearly as well.

If these were made with lids that were frames with hardware cloth in the middle, and the fronts were fully boarded up, would they be rat-proof?

Mouse-proof?

Hmmmmm…

This picture was taken at a raptor shelter where my sister-in-law volunteers.  I think she thought I might have been slightly off my rocker, taking pictures of their compost bins.

I took pictures of the birds, too!  I did!

… See?

However, the owls are not going to help my garden much.  I welcome them to tackle the rodents that want to munch on my compost.

In the meantime, I’ll go back to ogling other people’s compost bins.

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Question of Compost Bins

  1. Hi there, I would also love a compost bin like this! My Hubby thinks I’m a bit crazy for having a “dream compost bin!” Cheers Sarah : o )

Leave a Reply

