Plum Apricot Ice Cream, Dairy-free

This ice cream is one of my go-to recipes when I need something that is allergen-friendly and simple, and for which I have all the ingredients on hand.  This recipe is inspired by the plum ice cream recipe in “The Perfect Scoop” by David Lebovitz, which I’ve tweaked some and made dairy-free.

Awhile back, I was blessed with a plethora of black friar plums.  We ate them fresh, I made jam… and the rest I pureed, brought to a boil (which makes them a pretty purple color), and canned them.  I was also blessed with a whole box of apricots, which I pureed and froze.  So I have a lot of puree on hand.

Doesn’t everyone?  Don’t all normal women have these things hanging around?

No?

Someday I must meet a normal woman.  They’ve got to be fascinating.  I’m told that I don’t fit the description very well.

Back to our show.

If there’s anything the Moose likes better than bread, it’s ice cream.  Which he can’t have as it’s dairy.  Once I figured out that coconut milk makes a decent substitute for cream, we hauled out the ice cream maker and went to town.

A note here on coconut milk: the brand makes a BIG difference when I make ice cream.  Certain grocery store varieties that are common – Chaokoh, which is great in savory dishes, has an odd aftertaste in ice cream.  Thai Kitchen coconut milk is all right – but my favorite for sweets is Native Forest unsweetened organic coconut milk.  I get it through Azure Standard.

Here are all the players:

½ c. Sucanat (I pulverize mine in the blender or coffee maker), or plain sugar
¼ c. sugar (I use Costco organic)
1 pint plum puree (you could use one pound fresh plums, halved and brought to a boil in a saucepan)
1 c. apricot puree
½ T. vanilla (this not only adds flavor; the alcohol helps prevent ice cream from freezing rock hard)
1 can coconut milk, not lowfat.  You could use 8-12 oz. heavy cream instead, if you wish.

Pour all ingredients into blender.  They make pretty layers.

Blend for at least a minute, to make sure the sugars dissolve.

Chill mixture for an hour or two.  (I admit, I cheated on this step.  I popped the plum puree and the coconut milk into the fridge before church, and then didn’t chill everything after church when I made this recipe.  The apricot puree was mostly frozen, which helped.)

Turn on ice cream maker, and pour in.

At first, it’s pretty liquid.  It’s a pretty ice cream…

Then it starts setting up.

This looks about right.

All done!

I have to admit, when I put up plum puree the first year, I had no idea what I was going to do with it.  I froze it, thinking maybe I’d make hoisin sauce or some such.  I ran across the original plum ice cream recipe in the middle of the winter, and I was sure glad I had a bunch of puree!

Last year, I had the opportunity to buy a whole bunch of organic plums that were a tad overripe at a good discount.  As in, maybe 50 pounds of plums.  So we’re good for awhile!

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Allergy-Friendly, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

