Double Shot Mocha Cookies

King Arthur Flour company is a big resource for me.  Not only do they sell a lot of the more esoteric things that I like to bake with, but they have killer recipes as well.

This coming from someone for whom “Death by Chocolate” is not merely a recipe, but a life goal.

So when they published an article in their catalog for “Double Chocolate Mocha Chunks” awhile back, both Mr. Caffeinated and I sat up and took notice.  Me for the chocolate content; him for the coffee.

These are quite rich… and I can use the excuse of “They have coffee in them!” in an attempt to keep my children out of them.

The only piece of advice I have in addition to King Arthur’s recipe is to underbake them.  When I let them go the full ten minutes, they were not gooey in the middle.  Still good, of course – but gooey chocolate = stellar, in my book.

Now to upgrade the lock on my cookie storage…

You can find the recipe here.

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Double Shot Mocha Cookies

  1. Christy says:

    Ummmm…if I would have known about these yesterday when dropping off my dear daughter I would have come in!!! 🙂 Underbaked…gooey chocolate….mmmmmm…..

  2. Mrs H says:

    I cannot stay away from the KAF blog … it blesses my heart just to drool over the pictures. When I am in Vermont … I might need to make a special trip …………….. (and I have yet to find a cookbook of theirs that is not a family favorite!).

  3. Alex says:

    This looks like a great recipe. I’m going to give it a try for my son who has allergies to peanut/tree nuts and others. I just found your wonderful website and am following you on twitter!

    • dep31 says:

      Cool, thanks! Just be sure to underbake them. Oh… and if you use real espresso powder, the fully caffienated kind, then my experience is that eating them just before bedtime results in children bouncing off the ceiling! Be warned… 🙂

Leave a Reply

