Sweet Potato Casserole (with Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free tweaks)

Several years ago, a friend brought the regular gluten-and-dairy version of this to a potluck.  After we all ate ourselves silly, I cornered her and offered her any recipe in my collection in exchange for this one!  She told me that this is a very popular dish where she comes from in the Midwest.  I’d never seen a crisp-topped sweet potato casserole before… but I was instantly converted.

This casserole works equally well with regular wheat flour and real butter, if you’re not going GF, DF.  In fact, my original recipe calls for regular wheat flour and butter; I’ve just tweaked this for my young Moose, who can’t have ‘em.

First, I start by steaming my sweet potatoes.  You could bake them or boil them, but I think steaming gives them the best flavor.

Next, pull off the peels.  I use my kitchen gloves and do this while they’re still hot, because I have no patience to wait for them to cool off.  If I were smart, I’d stick them in the fridge and let them cool down.  However.

I’m not exactly a fanatic for exact measurements for anything outside of candy and pastry.  I have this tendency to see recipes as merely guidelines – it drives friends nuts when I say, “I’m going to make thus-and-so”, and begin by consulting a minimum of three recipes for the same dish!

My recipe calls for 3 cups sweet potatoes – I just steam up whatever’s on hand.  In this case, I think it was closer to four cups puree by the time I got it all in the blender.  I’ve also been known to toss in an extra egg or three, when I’m really craving something custard-y.

I throw all of the filling ingredients in the blender and puree till either things look very smooth or the blender throws a breaker.

Pour into casserole dish.

I tried doing the topping in the blender as well, but it ended up making a paste.  I ground up some additional pecans and mixed those in.  It didn’t seem to harm the results any.

Regular butter and dairy-free Earth Balance butter seem to each do equally well in this.  I added a bit extra (maybe a tablespoon or two) of the Earth Balance since it’s whipped, to make up any difference in the density of whipped vs. solid.

I think I could have left well enough alone and it would have been fine.  The gluten-free flour can tend to taste a teensy bit raw; I’m planning to toast it in a dry skillet next time.  Mr. Caffeinated suggested using oat flour, since many crisp toppings use oats.

Top the casserole and bake at 350° for 30 minutes.

My family prefers this version over the marshmallow-topped dish, hands down.  The trick for me is making sure that I’ve staked out my claim, preferably in a seperate container…

*UPDATED 11/18/2012* – new and improved, with all the latest tweaks!

Sweet Potato Casserole, with GF, DF tweaks.

3 – 4 c.  mashed sweet potatoes
1/2 c.    sugar (could be white, brown, sucanat… also, subbing 1-3 T. maple syrup for some of the sugar is lovely too.)
1/2 c. butter, room temperature  (I used Earth Balance DF “natural buttery spread”)
1/2 c.    milk (I used Silk Pure Almond for this)
1/2 tsp. salt
2  eggs
1 tsp.    vanilla

Blend or beat together and pour into deep dish casserole.  9×13 works fine.

Topping (this recipe makes enough topping for 2 casseroles, so if you’re only making one batch, cut everything by half):

1 c.     brown sugar
1/2 c.  flour (gluten-free works fine; I plan to try oat flour next time)
1/3 c.  butter (Earth Balance organic buttery spread -DF – works great)
1c. pecans (chopped)

Mix together sugar, flour and cut in butter well.  Add nuts.  Sprinkle over potato mixture.

Bake:  350°   for 30-35 min.

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Allergy-Friendly, Comfort Food, Desserts, Side dishes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweet Potato Casserole (with Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free tweaks)

  1. Mrs H says:

    Ah, your brain is wired to mine today … This morning Jess said, “We need to use up these sweet potatoes!” and I determined to e-mail you and ask for this recipe …. I love the convenience of blogs!!!

Leave a Reply

