The problem with snow days

The first thing I planned to do this morning was to take a hot shower.  I woke up this morning to sleet.  And snow.  Hail and rain may have also figured in there.  My bedroom has big windows.  It looked cold out there.

Mr. Caffeinated had decided to stay home from work.  The deciding factor was possibly one of two things:

  1. A quote on the news from a police officer that had watched a car in his rearview mirror – “Headlights, taillights, headlights, taillights… ditch.”
  2. The boss – and boss’s boss – and possibly one more level of management up – proclaiming unanimously via email:  “Stay Home.”

So there I was, snuggled under the covers, with hubby home to make breakfast for the kidlings, various forms of mostly frozen precipitation having their merry way out of doors – and no major motivation to get out of bed.

When I finally got up, my first thought was to check on the local wildlife.  I could smell coffee and hear screams.  Once that was dealt with, my own breakfast seemed to be in order.

I got sucked into various tasks.  Laundry.  Dishes.  Email.  Posting.  Caulking the tub – which did manage to get me out of my pajamas and robe and into paint clothes at the early hour of 4:00.  PM.

Other things eventuated.  Bread had to be baked.  The mail arrived.  Board games required umpiring, and mirrors needed to be hairsprayed.  Still, I longed for my hot shower.

The day wound to a close.  Family evening devotionals were held.  The question of whom Saul talked to via the witch of Endor was resolved.  (“God?” “No.” “An angel?” “No.” “I know!  A squirrel!”)  Obviously we need to work on our listening comprehension.

The kids were put to bed.  The dishwasher was started.

I finally climbed into the tub.  Afterwards, I went straight back into pajamas… but, hey!  I got my shower!

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Homeschool, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The problem with snow days

  1. Mrs H says:

    I call that a success!!!!!! (You never specified a time limit, right? Just “a hot shower!”) Awesome day. Love the snow 🙂

Leave a Reply

