Comfort Food: Chicken and Rice

When I was growing up, it was the practice at church to hold a potluck after morning services every few months.  All the kids looked forward to lunch; I don’t think any of us heard a word of the sermon.

My favorite dish at these was a casserole prepared by the preacher’s wife, Mrs. W.  I was so enamoured with it, in years after, my mother would make a triple batch for the family at home, as I could eat three platefuls easily in a single sitting.

It’s not the healthiest dish in the world, or the most exotic.  Certainly it’s not the most beautiful thing to present on a plate. It does have the advantage of being gluten, nut & soy free.  I submit that it is a quintessential comfort food:  Chicken and Rice.

I have no idea where the recipe may have originated.  My own copy was taken from my mother’s personal recipe collection, which she compiled on her faithful typewriter and saves in a miniature 3-ring binder.

First, sprinkle the bacon, rice, and whatever vegetables you want to add in the bottom of an oven-safe dish.  I haven’t got a true casserole dish big enough for this recipe, so I go with my Pyrex mixing bowls.

Next, chop the chicken into bite-size pieces:

I’ve gotten to where I am pretty picky about what kinds of pre-processed foods I feed my family.  We don’t eat too many of them… but sometimes a girl just has to make something with the ubiquitous ‘cream-ofs’.  My favorites are by organic soups by Pacific Natural Foods; I get them through Azure Standard.

Mix all the liquid ingredients and spices together.

My original Pyrex wasn’t big enough, so I transferred the whole thing to a bigger bowl.  That’s all right; I find that this casserole comes together better if it’s stirred before it goes in the oven.  Cover with foil and crimp the edges down well.

Bake at 325° for at least two hours.  It will be soupy when it first comes out; stir well and it will lose its soupiness quickly.

Just the thing I want on a cold, snowy day like today!

Chicken and Rice

2 T. bacon bits or   crumbled, cooked bacon 1 c. uncooked rice
1 c. raw, cubed   chicken
Oven 325°

Line bottom of casserole with bacon or bacon bits.  Pour in rice.  Place chicken on top.

Mix following together:

1 t. paprika 1/4 t. oregano
1/4 t. garlic powder 1 can cream of chicken soup
1/4 t. parsley flakes 1 can cream of mushroom   soup
1/4 t. chives or onion 2 – 3 cans water

Pour mixture over chicken and stir enough to get the liquids to the bottom of the dish.  Bake in covered container 325°  two to three hours.  Seal pan with foil.  Stir at the 90 minute mark, and check for doneness at two hours and at 30 minute intervals thereafter.

About dep31

I am a farm-raised homeschooling mom. I take great joy in making nutritious food that inspires people to take seconds. Thirds, anyone? We are a God-fearing, Christ worshiping family that enjoys good friends and good eats. If the kitchen is clean and the living room carpet is visible, then that's a nice bonus.
This entry was posted in Allergy-Friendly, Comfort Food, Main Dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

